Press "Enter" to skip to content

CUSA Basketball News: WatchStadium, and Divisional Standings

The league announced via press release this afternoon that both the men’s and women’s basketball seasons will have divisions this year. If you were not aware the previous standings had a single-column. Now they will be divided like the football side.

West:

  • La Tech
  • North Texas
  • Rice
  • USM
  • UAB
  • UTEP
  • UTSA

East:

  • Charlotte
  • FIU
  • FAU
  • Marshall
  • MTSU
  • ODU
  • WKU

The league said it will “crown division champions at the end of conference play” in March. Overall conference winning percentage will determine the champ, and there will be divisional seeding. “A cross-divisional bracket will be used to determine first-round matchups”

That does not quite make sense to me. I asked about it and will update this post when I get an answer.

Update: Here are the first two rounds laid out for you courtesy of the league office:

So now that we’re back to 12 teams, the top 6 from each division will qualify with the top 2 from each division receiving a bye.

Wednesday’s first round will look like this:

Game 1: West 4 vs. East 5
Game 2: East 3 vs. West 6
Game 3: East 4 vs. West 5
Game 4: West 3 vs. East 6

On Tuesday’s quarters:

East 1 vs. Winner of Game 1
West 2 vs. Winner of Game 2
West 1 vs. Winner of Game 3
East 2 vs. Winner of Game 4

Watch Stadium

Meanwhile, Stadium announced their slate of basketball broadcasts and they include a ton of CUSA hoops. Here is the channel-finder link: https://watchstadium.com/where-to-watch/

CUSA Games from the release:

Friday, January 1: WKU at Charlotte 4pm ET 

Saturday, January 2: WKU at Charlotte 4pm ET

Friday, January 8: Charlotte at Marshall 6pm ET 

Saturday, January 9: Charlotte at Marshall 4pm ET 

Friday, January 15: UTEP at North Texas 8pm ET 

Saturday, January 16: UTEP at North Texas 4pm ET

Saturday, January 23: Marshall at FIU 2pm ET

Friday, January 29: Florida Atlantic at Marshall 6pm ET 

Saturday, January 30: Florida Atlantic at Marshall 4pm ET 

Friday, February 5: LA Tech at North Texas 8pm ET 

Saturday, February 6: LA Tech at North Texas 2pm ET 

Friday, February 12: UAB at LA Tech 7:30pm ET 

Saturday, February 13: UAB at LA Tech 4pm ET

Friday, February 19: Old Dominion at UAB 7:30pm ET 

Saturday, February 20: Old Dominion at UAB 4pm ET 

Saturday, February 27: North Texas at Marshall 2pm ET 

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *